US States That Begin With The Letter M

Of the 50 US states, 8 start with the letter M.

Eight of the states which make up the US have names which begin with the letter “M.” These states are, in no specific order, Maryland, Michigan, Montana, Missouri, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Minnesota, and Maine. The states differ in measurement and inhabitants. The biggest of the eight states is Montana which is 0.147 million sq. miles in measurement, whereas the smallest is Massachusetts which covers an space of 10,565 sq. miles. Michigan is essentially the most populous of the eight states, with a inhabitants of over 9.962 million individuals.


Maryland is likely one of the smallest states that make up the US, masking an space of 12,407 sq. miles. The state is notable for having the best median family revenue of any state within the nation, which stands at $73,594. The state will get its identify from Queen Mary. King Charles I, the queen’s husband reigned over Nice Britain when George Calvert requested the king’s permission to arrange a colony within the New World. When founding the colony, George had instructed it’s often called “Crescentia,” however the king directed it’s often called Mary Land. Sharing the identify of the brand new colony was its first capital metropolis, St. Mary’s Metropolis.


A small state in measurement, Massachusetts occupies an space of 10,565 sq. miles. Inhabitants of the state reside within the city areas, with an estimated 80% of all Bay Staters residing within the Higher Boston area. Boston doubles up as the most important metropolis and the state capital of Massachusetts. The state is called in honor of the Massachusetts tribes who have been the indigenous inhabitants of the area and predate European settlement. Initially often called Plymouth, the state was the primary to be established as a colony. Pilgrims arrange the colony after arriving in North America in 1620.


Michigan covers an space of 96,716 sq. miles making it the eleventh largest state within the nation. The state’s largest metropolis, Detroit, is notable for having the most important metropolitan economic system within the nation. The state’s identify is derived from the Ojibwe identify for the lake “mishigamaa” which interprets to “massive lake.” Michigan was initially a French colony and was administered as a part of New France earlier than it fell into the fingers of the British in 1762 within the wake of the French-Indian Struggle. Throughout independence, the state was a part of the Northwest Territory and was acknowledged as a state in 1837.


The state of Minnesota is located north of the nation (it’s the northernmost state exterior Alaska) the place it covers an space of 86,936 sq. miles. The state acquired its identify from the Minnesota River whose identify within the Dakota language means “clear blue water.” Minneapolis, which is the state’s most populous metropolis, has an identical identify to the state. Minnesota was initially a part of Spanish Louisiana and solely turned a state in 1858. The state is famend for its excessive variety of lakes which earns it the nickname “Land of 10,000 Lakes.”

Unifying Traits

Regardless of every state having particular person traits, the eight states have some issues in widespread. One apparent attribute that the eight states share is that they’re all ruled underneath federal legislation of the US. Moreover, all of the eight states are located within the contiguous United States.

Most Popular

To Top